

# Miami Archdiocesan Council of Catholic Women Scholarship Fund

### ABOUT MACCW SCHOLARSHIP FUND

<u>PURPOSE</u>: The MACCW Scholarship Fund was formed to assist 8<sup>th</sup> grade girls attending Catholic Elementary Schools in the Archdiocese of Miami, to continue their education at a Catholic High School.

<u>OUR STORY</u>: In 1996, the MACCW Scholarship Fund was established. In 2015, in memory of longtime chairman of the scholarship committee and one of this committees founding members, the scholarship was named the MACCW Lucy Petrillo Scholarship Award. Since its inception, over \$266,000 has been awarded to 61 deserving young ladies.

### **SCHOLARSHIP LUNCHEON**

Every year MACCW hosts a luncheon to raise funds for the MACCW Scholarship Fund. The past three years, we have recognized individuals, for "Making a Difference in Education in the Archdiocese of Miami".

**2018 Luncheon** Richard P. Jean, Achbishop Edward A. McCarthy High School Principal **2017 Luncheon** Douglas Romanik, Archbishop Curley/Notre Dame High School Principal

2016 Luncheon Ana Garcia, Monsignor Edward Pace High School Principal

The 2019 Scholarship Luncheon will be held at the Embassy Suites Hotel, 1100 SE 17<sup>th</sup> St., Fort Lauderdale, on February 23<sup>rd</sup>. Joan Crown, retired Director of Respect Life Ministry in the Archdiocese of Miami, will be recognized for her many years of involvement in educating people on life issues.



Photographer Marlene Quaroni/FC

### **MACCW 2018 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPEINTS**



In 2018, the MACCW Lucy Petrillo Scholarship Award was presented to three girls. Each girl received \$6,000 toward the Catholic High School of her choice.

← Noble El-Bey of St. Bartholomew, & Wildine Aumoithe of Immaculate Conception , with Archbishop Thomas Wenski at the 60th MACCW Convention, April 28, 2018.

→ Mary Weber, Chair of MACCW Scholarship Committee along with Cristina Narvaez, proud mother of Sabina Gueseynova, at Blessed Trinity School Mass



### PAST SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

# All Saints Melody Morris 04 Jenne Gauzzi 06 Kailee Fernandez 08 Celine Duverge 09 Amanda Cadigan 10 Tiffany Soto 14 Christodoula Shiahinian 15 Annuciation Juwita Chavez 00 Tiffany Balbuza 04

Jessica Merisier 07

Francesca Fernandez 08

Blessed Trinity
Ashley Evans 05
Alexlandra Soto 11
Melissa Rey 12
Karina Santin 13
Sophia James 16
Sabrina Sousa 17
Sabina Gueseynova 18
Immaculate Conception
Anais De Armas 03
Jessica Camara 06
Daniela Garcia 08
Alexandra Williams 10
Athena Alfonso 12
Wildine Aumoithe 18

Little Flower Hollywood
Eva Buckalew 97
Nativity
Elizabeth O'Neil 98
Jessica O'Neil 99
Our Lady of the Lakes
Vanessa Perez-Robles 15
Our Lady Queen of Heaven
Megan Baldwin 02
St. Ambrose
Marisa Joyce 10
St. Andrew
Gianella Perez 11

St. Bartholomew

Noble El-Bey 18

St. Bonaventure
Courtney Wezkiewicz 09
St. Clement
Kari Gastel 06
St. Francis Xavier
Ashlee Watts 00
Tierra Forbes 08
St. Gregory
Alexis Echeverria 01
Gabriella La Rocca 04
St. Helen
Shari Chin 03
Dianne Merlien 09
Marie Seide 17

St. James
Ashley Zephirin 97
Manoucheca Phanourd 01
Cynthia Massillon 04
Widlyne Coles 07
Adora Nacier 11
Alexandra Laroche 12
Joanina Daphins 16
Lisdrasanac Louimeus 17
St. Mary Cathedral
Elizabeth Presume 99
Wanda Fritz 07
Taimara Antoine 14

St. John the Apostle
Cassidy Aliano 09
Andrea Cicilia 10
Laura Diaz 11
Carla Mejia 13
Letiticia Saladrigas 14
Katherine Alonso 16
St. Louis Covenant
Samantha Ulaje 15
St. Thomas the Apostle
Biatriz Zaldivar 98
St. Timothy
Stacy Lloyd 02

## maccwscholarshipfund@gmail.com

MACCW Scholarship Committee: Mary Weber, Fr. Michael Greer, Lisa Shelly, Suzanne Auer, Elizabeth Clark, Barbara Asfendis, Josephine Gilbert, Marie Mohammed, Diane Tugander